Informatica: Do we need to add sort transformation?

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

Post Reply
atacht2015
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:49 pm

Informatica: Do we need to add sort transformation?

Post by atacht2015 » Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:54 pm

HI All,
I am loading 20 millions of data from from one vertica table and target vertica table, and the target table is the reporting tables.
I am using Informatica for this load, do you think it is better to add one sort transformation in the mappping? Will it impact the loading speed of my session?

Looking forward to your suggestions!
,

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Informatica: Do we need to add sort transformation?

Post by JimKnicely » Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:44 pm

Hi,

I do not think it is necessary as Vertica will being doing a sort again (by projection) regardless if the data being loaded is sorted or not.

Thanks!
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

Post Reply

Return to “New to Vertica”