Run VSQL under CygWin?

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

Post Reply
usao
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 5:39 pm

Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by usao » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:55 pm

Im looking for a way to run VSQL (Windows client) under CygWin.
So far, not much success.
It hangs when asking for the password.
I saw other posts about a cygwin.bat file, but I cannot find that on my system.
BASH_VERSION='4.4.5(1)-release'

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by JimKnicely » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:01 pm

Hi,

I installed Cygwin on Windows 7. I edited the c:\cygwin64\bin\cygwin1.bat file and added the following lines:

cmd.exe /c chcp 1252
set CYGWIN=binmode ntsec

Next I opened a Windows command prompt, ran the c:\cygwin64\bin\cygwin1.bat file, then successfully launched vsql...

Here is the output:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\knicely>cd c:\cygwin64

c:\cygwin64>more Cygwin.bat
@echo off
cmd.exe /c chcp 1252

C:
chdir C:\cygwin64\bin

set CYGWIN=binmode ntsec

bash --login -i

c:\cygwin64>Cygwin.bat
Active code page: 1252

knicely@KNICELY6 ~
$ cmd /c "C:\Program Files\Vertica Systems\VSQL64\vsql.exe" -h 192.168.56.102 -U dbadmin -w *******
Welcome to vsql, the Vertica Analytic Database interactive terminal.

Type: \h or \? for help with vsql commands
\g or terminate with semicolon to execute query
\q to quit

dbadmin=> select * from dual;
dummy
-------
X
(1 row)

dbadmin=> \q

knicely@KNICELY6 ~


Works!
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for Vertica. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

renith
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:31 am
Location: chennai,velachery
Contact:

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by renith » Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:37 am

When I try to run the vsql client, it prompts me for a password. However, it just echos the password to the screen as I type then hangs after I hit enter. If I put the "-w" option with the password on the command line, then vsql just hangs.

oracle training in bangalore : http://www.besanttechnologies.in/oracle ... alore.html
oracle training in chennai : https://www.besanttechnologies.com/trai ... e-training

usao
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 5:39 pm

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by usao » Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:20 pm

I tried to create the cygwin1.bat file (which did not previously exist).
When it tries to run the "chop" command, it sais that it doesn't exist.
Image

sKwa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:12 pm

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by sKwa » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:54 pm

Hi!
usao wrote:
Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:20 pm
When it tries to run the "chop" command, it sais that it doesn't exist.
JimKnicely wrote:
Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:01 pm
I installed Cygwin on Windows 7. I edited the
c:\cygwin64\bin\cygwin1.bat
file and added the following lines:
cmd.exe /c chcp 1252
set CYGWIN=binmode ntsec

find a difference in commands(HINT: chop vs chcp)

usao
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 5:39 pm

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by usao » Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:13 pm

Ok, I replaced the chop with chcp, and I was able to run thta batch file from Windows command prompt, but not from Cygwin.
In either case, when I run:
$ cmd /c "C:\Program Files\Vertica Systems\VSQL64\vsql.exe" -h 10.0.3.51 -U dbadmin -w *****
from either Windows CMD or from Cygwin, it just hangs.

sKwa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:12 pm

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by sKwa » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:50 am

Hi!

It can be a problem with environment, so lets check it first - with CygWin install psql and try connect to Vertica with psql(yes, Vertica based on PostgreSQL and psql can connect to Vertica).

**PS**: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/144 ... -in-cygwin

Post Reply

Return to “New to Vertica”