Run VSQL under CygWin?

Forum for the new Vertica user

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

Post Reply
usao
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 5:39 pm

Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by usao » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:55 pm

Im looking for a way to run VSQL (Windows client) under CygWin.
So far, not much success.
It hangs when asking for the password.
I saw other posts about a cygwin.bat file, but I cannot find that on my system.
BASH_VERSION='4.4.5(1)-release'

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1736
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by JimKnicely » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:01 pm

Hi,

I installed Cygwin on Windows 7. I edited the c:\cygwin64\bin\cygwin1.bat file and added the following lines:

cmd.exe /c chcp 1252
set CYGWIN=binmode ntsec

Next I opened a Windows command prompt, ran the c:\cygwin64\bin\cygwin1.bat file, then successfully launched vsql...

Here is the output:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\knicely>cd c:\cygwin64

c:\cygwin64>more Cygwin.bat
@echo off
cmd.exe /c chcp 1252

C:
chdir C:\cygwin64\bin

set CYGWIN=binmode ntsec

bash --login -i

c:\cygwin64>Cygwin.bat
Active code page: 1252

knicely@KNICELY6 ~
$ cmd /c "C:\Program Files\Vertica Systems\VSQL64\vsql.exe" -h 192.168.56.102 -U dbadmin -w *******
Welcome to vsql, the Vertica Analytic Database interactive terminal.

Type: \h or \? for help with vsql commands
\g or terminate with semicolon to execute query
\q to quit

dbadmin=> select * from dual;
dummy
-------
X
(1 row)

dbadmin=> \q

knicely@KNICELY6 ~


Works!
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

Post Reply

Return to “New to Vertica”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest