Run VSQL under CygWin?

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

Post Reply
usao
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 5:39 pm

Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by usao » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:55 pm

Im looking for a way to run VSQL (Windows client) under CygWin.
So far, not much success.
It hangs when asking for the password.
I saw other posts about a cygwin.bat file, but I cannot find that on my system.
BASH_VERSION='4.4.5(1)-release'

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1755
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Run VSQL under CygWin?

Post by JimKnicely » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:01 pm

Hi,

I installed Cygwin on Windows 7. I edited the c:\cygwin64\bin\cygwin1.bat file and added the following lines:

cmd.exe /c chcp 1252
set CYGWIN=binmode ntsec

Next I opened a Windows command prompt, ran the c:\cygwin64\bin\cygwin1.bat file, then successfully launched vsql...

Here is the output:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\knicely>cd c:\cygwin64

c:\cygwin64>more Cygwin.bat
@echo off
cmd.exe /c chcp 1252

C:
chdir C:\cygwin64\bin

set CYGWIN=binmode ntsec

bash --login -i

c:\cygwin64>Cygwin.bat
Active code page: 1252

knicely@KNICELY6 ~
$ cmd /c "C:\Program Files\Vertica Systems\VSQL64\vsql.exe" -h 192.168.56.102 -U dbadmin -w *******
Welcome to vsql, the Vertica Analytic Database interactive terminal.

Type: \h or \? for help with vsql commands
\g or terminate with semicolon to execute query
\q to quit

dbadmin=> select * from dual;
dummy
-------
X
(1 row)

dbadmin=> \q

knicely@KNICELY6 ~


Works!
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

Post Reply

Return to “New to Vertica”