Db links in Vertica?

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

User avatar
abeeshdreams
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:11 am

Db links in Vertica?

Post by abeeshdreams » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:06 am

I'm a newbie. I would like to know if there is any concept like "db link" available in Vertica ? If not can anyone please teach me how to inter connect two db's in Vertica? :)
Abeeshdreams

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1778
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Db links in Vertica?

Post by JimKnicely » Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:58 pm

Hi,

Welcome to the forums!

Are you trying to link Vertica to a non-Vertica database? Unfortunately, as far as I know (as of Vertica 6) we can not create database links like those that exist in Oracle and SQL Server.

But we can easily connect to another Vertica database if we need to to copy data between two Vertica databases. See page 665 of the SQL Reference Manual:
CONNECT TO VERTICA database USER username PASSWORD 'password' ON 'host',port
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

User avatar
abeeshdreams
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:11 am

Re: Db links in Vertica?

Post by abeeshdreams » Wed Jul 25, 2012 9:39 am

Thanks a lot knicely87. That helped :)
Abeeshdreams

DGh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:10 pm

Re: Db links in Vertica?

Post by DGh » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:01 pm

Hi,
I am new to this forum and Vertica as well. We are running version 6. I am designing an in house ETL process . I have the need to join 2 tables in vertica that belong to 2 different databases.
Is there a way to do that? I could do that over dblinks in oracle/sqlserver.



thanks for the help!

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1778
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Db links in Vertica?

Post by JimKnicely » Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:54 am

Hi!

What do you mean by "I have the need to join 2 tables in vertica that belong to 2 different databases"? Are they two different Vertica databases or are they disparate databases?
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

User avatar
nnani
Master
Master
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:28 am
Contact:

Re: Db links in Vertica?

Post by nnani » Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:40 am

#DGh

Welcome to Vertica Forums ! :)

As of now, DB links feature in not present in Vertica.
More over you cannot run two databases simultaneously at one time in Vertica cluster.

The approach to your scenario can be : use two different schemas in same cluster which can act as two different database.
Once the databases are set, you can join the tables in two different database using the standard SQL.

Let us know your requirement precisely..

Hope this helps.. :)
nnani........
Long way to go

You can check out my blogs at vertica-howto

DGh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:10 pm

Re: Db links in Vertica?

Post by DGh » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:12 pm

knicely87 wrote:Hi!

What do you mean by "I have the need to join 2 tables in vertica that belong to 2 different databases"? Are they two different Vertica databases or are they disparate databases?
Hi Jim,
They are two different vertica databases.

thanks

Post Reply

Return to “New to Vertica Database Development”