Trying to create a cluster with Management Console

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

Post Reply
chad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 2:00 am

Trying to create a cluster with Management Console

Post by chad » Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:59 am

I am using the .ovf community edition downloaded from my.vertica.com. Installed 3 times for a 3 node cluster, installed vertica-console-6.1.3-0.x86_64.SUSE.rpm also downloaded from my.vertica.com.

Went through and made the changes necessary for the clustering, connected to Node 1 that I installed the console on, added the hosts and tried to Validate the first host and got the message
- Validation Group: Validating Presence of Veritca (not my spelling)
Error:Test: validating vertica rpm installation : ERROR 10: vertica rpm is installed

Please assist, I am simply trying to cluster 3 CE nodes with no real changes to the underlying system. Should this not cluster right off the bat?

Thanks

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Trying to create a cluster with Management Console

Post by JimKnicely » Wed Oct 16, 2013 1:31 pm

Hi Chad,

Your issue may be that the Community Edition of Vertica is not supported by Management Console.

See:

http://www.vertica-forums.com/viewtopic ... nsole#p809
http://www.vertica-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=1032
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

chad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 2:00 am

Re: Trying to create a cluster with Management Console

Post by chad » Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:50 am

I have searched through all of the latest documentation and the only way that I can see to cluster is through the MC. Can you guide me on how to cluster without using the MC please? Or post a document?

Thanks

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Trying to create a cluster with Management Console

Post by JimKnicely » Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:40 pm

Hi Chad,

Are you talking about simply adding nodes to a cluster? That's relatively easy. Refer to the Administrator's Guide documentation here:

https://my.vertica.com/docs/6.1.x/HTML/ ... #10265.htm
https://my.vertica.com/docs/CE/6.0.1/HT ... #10265.htm
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Trying to create a cluster with Management Console

Post by JimKnicely » Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:17 pm

FYI...

See this post about Vertica CE and MC:

http://www.vertica-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=1471

It seems if you use Vertica CE 6.1.2 you may be able to use Vertica MC. I haven't tested this personally. Please let us know if you do!
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

Post Reply

Return to “Vertica Management Console”