Column must appear in the GROUP BY

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

amine
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:18 pm

Re: Column must appear in the GROUP BY

Post by amine » Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:04 pm

I have the community edition 6.1.2-0
that's really intrigiung...

amine
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:18 pm

Re: Column must appear in the GROUP BY

Post by amine » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:41 pm

So it looks like it's related to prepared statements not being handled properly.
Can you please help me out writing a prepared statement query from SquirrelSQL?
(I tried and it gave me this error
Error: [Vertica][VJDBC](4412) ERROR: Prepared statements are currently unsupported
SQLState: 0A000
ErrorCode: 4412
)

PREPARE stmt (varchar) AS
SELECT * FROM my_table WHERE name = $1;

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1806
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Column must appear in the GROUP BY

Post by JimKnicely » Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:13 pm

Hi,

It's not SQuirreL that doesn't support prepared statements, it's Vertica.

Code: Select all

dbadmin=> PREPARE stmt (varchar) AS
dbadmin-> SELECT * FROM my_table WHERE name = $1;
ERROR 4412:  Prepared statements are currently unsupported
Since they have a specific error for it, perhaps prepared statements are in the development pipeline?
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for Vertica. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

amine
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:18 pm

Re: Column must appear in the GROUP BY

Post by amine » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:25 pm

Right,
When I said 'not handled properly' I was talking about the vertica driver.
And this makes me think that this is the reason for my original problem, since all queries from the app are prepared statements. Any idea on the ETA for this feature in the driver side? if not, where/who should I ask?

Thanks

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1806
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Column must appear in the GROUP BY

Post by JimKnicely » Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:53 pm

Hi,

Check the vertica.log file to see what is the exact SQL statement that is being passed to Vertica. If it is PREPARE statement, then it's not a driver issue ;) If you still think it's a driver issue then I suggest contacting Vertica directly. However, since you are using CE, I'm not sure if you can get support.
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for Vertica. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

Post Reply

Return to “JDBC”