Issue with connecting to Vertica VM using client tools

Forum to discuss the Vertica installation process

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

Post Reply
kallu2020
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 8:05 pm

Issue with connecting to Vertica VM using client tools

Post by kallu2020 » Fri May 06, 2016 1:45 am

Dear All, I have installed Vertica VM on mac but the node address is 127.0.0.1 using which I am not able to connect even thru unix/python script/any other tool.
I haven't done manual installation. Is there a way I can change this address so I will be able to connect.
I have referred to the manual , to change node IP, I need to bring it down but once I do that I can't run the UPDATE statement.
One other thing is I have downloaded another Vertica VM hoping to connect both VMs, so I can change IP of one node when other one is up and running but couldn't connect them either. This is really important as POC is pending.
Any help in this regard is highly appreciated.

Thanks..

User avatar
JimKnicely
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1674
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: Issue with connecting to Vertica VM using client tools

Post by JimKnicely » Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:36 pm

Hi,

Even though Vertica was installed using the local 127.0.0.1 IP address, the VM itself should have a public IP. You should be able to use it to connect to Vertica. Use the ifconfig Linux command to get that IP address.
Jim Knicely

Image

Note: I work for HPE. My views, opinions, and thoughts expressed here do not represent those of my employer.

Post Reply

Return to “Vertica Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest