Factors impacting performance of Vertica database

Moderator: NorbertKrupa

mbalajiwale

Factors impacting performance of Vertica database

Post by mbalajiwale » Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:32 am

Hello,

I am a newbie to use Vertica. Our requirement is to develop MicroStrategy reports and dashboards which will point to Vertica (single node in dev env and then multinode in QA). Our intention is the develop very good performance reports and dashbaords. We need to come up with all possible factors related to Vertica which if implemented may result in slow performance. Few things which we found googling are as below:

1. Projections: How the projections should be defined? Are there any best practices to do this to have best optimized model? Any golden rules, any tips and tricks...any thing....?

2. Is there any thing like what should be preferred - joins or sub-queries to improve performance. Similarly for other clauses too which are used in a query

3. Any thing related to H/W configuration?

These are just very high level points we have searched so far. We would like to some one guide us here about all possible performance factors which hamper performance of Vertica and in return hamper performance of the application/MicroStrategy reports and dashboards pointing on Vertica

Thanks in advance!

id10t
GURU
GURU

Re: Factors impacting performance of Vertica database

Post by id10t » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:04 am

Hi!

No "golden rules/bullets"

1. depends on data

2. no "golden rule", but try to avoid constrains (PK/FK).

3. try to dernomolize table (less dims tables = less joins). MSTR can build hierarchy from flat table

mbalajiwale

Post by mbalajiwale » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:42 am

Thanks SKwa for your inputs.
1. When we say 'depends on data'...then do we mean here by volume of data, distribution of data on each node and each storage location? Can you please throw some light on this?